Musket & Pike

Retreat Examples Various Examples

Artillery, Light Infantry, and Two-Hex HI Isolated Rules

Volume IThis Accursed Civil War 1642 - 1645
Volume IISweden Fights On 1634 - 1645
Volume IIIUnder the Lily Banners 1643 - 1648
Volume IVGustav Adolf the Great 1627 - 1632
Volume VNothing Gained But Glory 1675 - 1678
Volume VISaints in Armor 1620 - 1626

Modified VC to prod the Historical aggressor along.

Series Replay
TACW: First Newbury with comments by W. Raynovich Edgehill

As of today, to look up a Musket & Pike Consimworld post, add around 200.
ClarificationConsimworld Post
An inactive unit under Rally that makes a reactive withdrawl does so under the Withdraw rules [9.2.4].7251
A single AC activation may not move and influence WC same activation, among other variations. 8996, 9275, 9280, 9940, 11282, 11883
Lutzen (Pappenheim)9204
AC may influence Pre-emption (though if it works, the AC is Finished for that activation)9290
Off map wings do not count to Surrender, only on board units.9251
Open Order Cav may avoid formation hits when fired on by artillery9297
Morale Shaken unit that gets a Morale Broken result is Morale Broken9391
Cav underneath a friendly artillery unit may intercept 9626
Reactions abound on an advance9731
9.1 "An Active unit may Reaction Fire or Reaction Move..." is in the Close Combat Phase, not applicable during or after an interception combat9835
Friendly units may move into/trough enemy artillery hexes normally.9927
A unit is limited to one action per activation. In a single activation say a FB unit may not go to FS by the AC then to FN by the WC. 9940
OOC Units may initiate CC.9940
Wagon errata (since incorporated into the Saints In Armor standard rules)9949
In CC a MS unit rescives a 'MS retreat 1 hex' result. The unit becomes MB and retreats 2 hexes total.10242
A unit under Charge orders who can not move one hex closer to his target MUST at least make a facing change [5.6.1]. The designer is adamant about this. Otherwise you are playing with a house rule. A single facing change will do though the unit may use his full movement. Can not end his move exactly as he began (no face right then left).10460
Only the cav unit that is intercepted can react11224, 11306
Forming voluntary hedgehog is not a trigger11282
The target of a charge may not change during the charge unless: intercepted, target withdraws, or target retreats. After any of thease, Re-evaluate. See the 5.6.1 NOTE.10030, 11271, 11275
An interceptor becoming FB as it enters the adjacent hex of its target is both legal and does not prevent momentum.11284
An advance/pursuit after combat (and the facing change, if any) generate one trigger in the final advance/pursuit hex11286
Units in hedgehog formation ignore terrain FH when advancing or retreating.11644
Multiple steep slopes LOS. The number of dead zone hexes per steep slope is determined by the first steep slope.9412
Where the TEC indicates that a reciprocal hexside blocks LOS, the hexside does not block the LOS (or the Line of Fire) for any unit that has the benefit of the hexside. Conversely, a unit firing from a hex not adjacent to the hexside may trace an LOS (and a Line of Fire) into any hex directly behind the reciprocal hexside, but not beyond. 10567, 10583
Artillery, with a height advantage, may not fire over units unless the units are in a dead zone (only). At them, not over (unless in a dead zone).11813
The charging unit may charge a unit other than his target if the final charge hex is closer to the current charge target.11850
More AC activations (they only get one, and aiding a pre-emption counts).11883
Grazing fire requires flat terrain all through the LOS and beyond.11952
An Artillery unit becomes Disabled if a friendly unit retreats into/thorugh it. Captured if an enemy unit.11908
A friendly unit enters the front hexes of two enemy units via advancing fire and fires at one of them. Both enemy units may reaction fire.BGG
Each CC is resolved before moving to the next as it is not practical to do all CC at each step. If you have 3 or 4 CC to resolve it would be very easy to lose track of you did not fully resolve each one, including reactions before moving on to the next. The rule is saying resolve each step of a given CC before moving to the next CC.12406
A Formation Normal active HI makes uses Advancing Fire on a Formation Normal HI and the target receives a formation hit and goes Formation Shaken. May this now FS unit make a Facing Change? No.12777
If an infantry unit is under an artillery unit, can the infantry unit make a reaction fire? No. "Otherwise react" would be a facing change, a hedgehog (if reacting to cavalry), or change the stacking order which is unique to stacking with artillery. Reaction Firing is not allowed. 13302

The target of a charge may not change during the charge unless intercepted(1). After an interception, Re-evaluate.
Consimworld post 10030

I have a Cavalry Unit under Charge orders. He moves 1 hex towards the closest enemy unit A. Enemy Cavalry B intercepts and my Cavalry unit is thrown back 2 Hexes in Retreat. I assume my cavalry unit has not satisfied his requirement to end one hex closer to his target unit (enemy unit A), so he must continue to move?

The unit must satisfy the order restriction at the end of his move. The presence of the intercepting unit does count, so the original closest unit (enemy unit A) may no longer be the closest unit, it may be enemy unit B. A unit that is intercepted is not "locked on" like a missile to the original closest unit. Once an interception is resolved, reevaluate what movement, if any, is necessary.

The pre-charge target of a charge may not change during the charge unless intercepted(1)
  • During the charge the charging unit may move closer to another enemy unit...
  • ... though never adjacent to a non-target unit not in the front facing of a friendly unit...
  • ... such that the final hex would not be closer to the charge target.
  • The charging unit must end at least one hex closer to The pre-charge Target enemy unit.
  • Lets say the charging unit starts facing two hexes from the target counting the targets hex. This means a move of one hex puts the charging unit adjacent to the target. Hence, the charging unit, unless intercepted, Must end adjacent to the target. It is fine to about face, move a hex away, about face and now charge two hexes to get that momentum against the target unit. Such an about face may bring the charger closer to another enemy unit (never adjacent in this case, i.e, he has yet to move closer to his target at this time), does not matter, the charger must still end one hex closer to the pre-charge determined target.
  • The charging unit may charge a unit other than his target if the final charge hex is closer to the current charge target.

  • If however at any time during the charge the charger is intercepted(1), and after the interception combat (if any) the charger is no FB and has remaining movement points.. things change, time to "re-evaluate" per 5.6.1 NOTE.

  • After the post advance/retreat of the interception, with the chargers remaining movement factors the charger Must select a new nearest target per all the selection criteria and such. See the 5.6.1 NOTE, this rule, from my readings on the boards, was put in specifically to force a post interception re-evaluation of the charge target. 5.6.1 NOTE is not a hex by hex 're-determination', but a post interception determination.
  • If the charging unit, post interception advance/retreat, if any, is at least one hex closer to the orginal target, the charger May end his charge in the current hex. If he does not, he must re-evaluate.
  • However if the charging unit is not one hex closer to the original target, the charging unit must re-evaluate and move one hex closer to the new post interception target (which many times will be his interceptor).
  • (1) The same for a Withdraw. If the original target makes a Withdraw reaction the charging unit may end his charge if he did move one hex closer to the orginal target, or the charging unit may now re-evaluate who the closest target is.
    Also the same for a 2 hex rout by the target if the target was routed by the charging unit firing his pistols during movement.
    More on the 5.6.1 NOTE

    Surmised (stuff that has come up in playing and if answered (or even a question) on Consim/BGG I missed it)
    A two hex HI must predesignate both target hexes before firing. The [10.5.1] sequence does not allow for the asyncronous firing of a two hex HI without some guessing. Some thing like, " A thru F for first hex, decide if to go to G then and there for the first hex or to go back to A then through G if they want to combine..."
    An offboard AC may not influence a WCs die rolls. [5.1.2] says the AC must be in the same hex or adjacent, which while off board they are not.
    For a two Hex unit when a unit must be 'closer' or 'farther', this applies to either or both hexes of the two hex HI. So, for example, on a Charge, one hex of the HI gets closer while ther other remains same distance, this is closer.
    Crossing any listed Hexside Terrain breaks momentum with the single exception of Slopes, Slopes do not break momentum. A Cavalry charges two hexes and gains momentum. He crosses say a hedge hexside into a third hex and loses momentum. He will not get momentum again until the 5th hex.
    Rule 10.9.5: "... An LOS that passes along a hex spine is blocked only if both hexes sharing that spine contain blocking terrain or units. ..." If this LOS is good, the hex spine is concidered Open Ground, i.e., no TEM for the Fire Combat.
    [5.2.2]'s INFLUENCE RALLY OR REFORM is tied to "w/Leader" on the Orders Restriction Chart and/OR a same hex Rally. That is, if in Receive Charge, In Command units may always Reform even if the WC moves. If the Receive Charge leader infulenced a Rally(s) that WC may not move that activation. Staying with Receive Charge and a wing with two seperated groups one in command and one not, the units in comand could first reform, the WC then moves to the other group putting them in command, and those units then reform.

    Above the Fields